Mountaineering Club

7 Mar

Last night I went with Rob to the La Trobe Mountaineering Club where I signed up to become a member. The activity for the evening was rock climbing on the side of the school gym. The club provided shoes and harnesses for everyone. I sort of remembered what I was doing, it’s been many many years since I climbed. But I belayed Rob and he’s still alive, so that’s good. They gave us a refresher course and most people had never done it before. Rob and I showed people how to put harnesses on properly so they don’t die.

Itty bitty climbing wall

Rob ended up belaying a lot of people since he was comfortable doing it. It was fun. Everyone was very nice and friendly. We signed up for The Big Weekend which takes place the weekend after this coming one. It’s a 3 day camping/kayaking/rock climbing trip. I don’t know how I got conned into going camping in Australia, something I swore to Rob wasn’t happening. I’m looking forward to it. Since I haven’t attended an indoor pool kayaking I get to learn how to roll and recover in the river. Brr.

On belay!

5 Responses to “Mountaineering Club”

  1. Michelle Giering March 7, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    How fun! I’m so glad you guys joined a club.

  2. Mildred Pitoni March 7, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Hi! Can’t believe you have found another way to work off your energy!
    Bert had another visit to the eye doctor for an injection today. It means he will have trouble watching T.V. for a while tonight.
    We are trying to plan a trip to Alaska as Bert has never been and he always wanted to go.
    We are geting some results of the primary election tonight.
    He got his new hearing aid but I can’t tell much difference.
    That is a description of our exciting life here on scenic court.
    In case I failed to memtion we were happy to receive your snail mail which came promptly.

  3. Rachel March 7, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Climbing again… Did it all come back to you?Are you going to have your dad mail you your shoes? My dad and I were just talking about Joshua tree on Sunday. And the climbing gym on Rosecrans? And rock n water. Ah, memories! That was a fun time of life.

  4. Dad March 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Hi Dear,
    I returned Rachael’s (Brian’s) DVD today and got to see Caroline at 2 mos. She’s beautiful.
    Seeing Rachael reminded me of climbing.
    Break a leg!

  5. Jessika March 12, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    Mmmm.. i’m confused about what you are going to “roll and recover”. I really hope it means they throw pool toys into the river that you have to roll and recover!
    Or does it mean they are going to try to drown you in your kayak while you try to flip yourself over? (i’ll take the recovering pool toys over the drowning bit!)
    Didn’t realize you were so brave…i would have joined a flower picking club or a rescue baby bird club or something where you don’t have to hang off of cliffs tied to ropes club. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

