The Devil Down Under

10 Mar

Rob and I have decided to take a trip to Tasmania during his first break, which starts at the end of the month. Tasmania is pretty close to Melbourne so the flights are reasonable. Rob reeeeeeeally wants to take the Spirit of Tasmania ferry. It’s only 10 hours, at night. Fun, right? I agreed to take it one way if I’m drugged up on dramamine. (Jennifer + boat = sea sick and miserable)

There are lots of cool things to do there and we haven’t quite narrowed down what we’re going to see. At the top of my list is the Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary. They have night tours where you actually go in the enclosures and help feed/pet the animals. Since most of them are nocturnal anyway, they are up and doing stuff at night. I told Rob that I wasn’t leaving Australia until I got to hug a koala, and I think that may be a possibility here. We’ll have to investigate a little further. Also, they have tons of tasmanian devils.

Cute and cuddly, no?

 

3 Responses to “The Devil Down Under”

  1. Rachel Starrett March 11, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    A ferry for that long? Why not kayak there and get more exercise?

  2. Dad March 11, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Love it that you guys don’t seem to waste a day. It will be fun to casually mention, “yeah, I’ve been to Tasmania.”
    Wasn’t there a Tasmanian devil that bothered Elmer Fud, or was it Daffy Duck?

  3. Jessika March 12, 2012 at 2:39 am #

    Did you hug the Koala??? Did you, did you ???
    If you haven’t …do it twice, once for you and once for me and send me a pic…
    Can’t wait for you to hug the koala 🙂

Leave a Reply

