Gear Hired

13 Mar

I got my sleeping bag and mat from the Mountaineering Club tonight at the planning BBQ. We will get a tent when we go, but we made sure to say that we need one. They refer to renting stuff as hiring. The BBQ was pretty good and I got to talk one of Rob’s friends and some other people we met the previous week. The camping is taking place at Cathedral Range State Park which is 2 hours north east of Melbourne. The town is Taggerty if you’re interested in checking the weather while we’re there. Looks like it’s going to be cold and rainy…

Does this mean I really have to go?

4 Responses to “Gear Hired”

  1. Michelle Giering March 14, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    If it’s raining, will you still go? (bum nuts)

  2. Dad March 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    I did my best to find the weather, but the patterns are huge and what you acutally get is impossible to predict. So, keep dry, my dear, and send Rob out for bum nuts and toast.

  3. Cecy March 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Aaaaah! Finally you will be able to fully comprehend our communications…. I had no idea that we were at such cross purposes. Wait till you come across aubergine…. or zucchini. Have you tried boot or bonnet yet? How about shopping trolley/cart? (I still get that one wrong). Petrol/Gas? Post/Mail? Queue/Line? Oh yes, the British were DEFINITELY there – check out the flag. Have you tried Vegemite yet – yummmm! But not as good as Marmite.

    • jenniferzook March 14, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      I tried marmite when I was in Scotland. Blech. I was just telling Rob how we can figure out mostly what they’re talking about except they just use different phrases, exactly the post/mail parking lot/car park scenario you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

