Kayak Roll Not as Good as a Sushi Roll

17 Apr

We went to the Mountaineering Club indoor kayaking tonight. Since it was my first time I had to learn how to roll and escape with my life. It’s not tricky, but they want you to try it once so if it ever really happens you don’t panic and drown. I still got plenty of water up my nose. The rest of the time was spent paddling back and forth in the pool, mostly bumping into each other. Fortunately, I didn’t smack anyone in the face with my paddle. There is always next time.

The "drowned rat" look

We get in the kayaks at the edge of the pool and sort of scoot our way into the water. I got help and in the process scratched the heck out of my leg on the inside foot rest things. Here’s a picture, you can’t really tell, but there is a 12 inch pink stripe down my shin.

Don't worry, it feels a lot worse than it looks. (Leg is not this blotchy in real life, I blame the lighting)

3 Responses to “Kayak Roll Not as Good as a Sushi Roll”

  1. Mildred Pitoni April 17, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    On rare occasions we have watched the “Kayakers” down on the Delaware just under the walking bridge- some are good and some just learning, I think! Gram

  2. Michelle Giering April 17, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    At least it didn’t mess up your pedicure! And what ARE you wearing?

  3. Neil Hooper April 18, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    This is Cecily’s and my favorite outdoor pursuit. It’s got everything. You can drown, break limbs, injure others, be eaten or poisoned by critters, get squished by a vehicle 25 million times heavier than yours, and, the biggest fear of all, smugly go to show off your roll to the lesser mortals on the beach and screw it up. What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

