The Woods are Lovely Dark and Deep

8 May

When we first moved into our apartment we were both disappointed that we were so far from civilization. But after we discovered that directly behind our building is wilderness and trails, this place grew on us. I don’t think if I had to the chance to move somewhere closer to a grocery store that I would trade it for seeing kangaroos whenever I wanted.

Today was sunny and almost warm which is a welcome break from cold and rainy. I took a much needed walk through forest. It’s always peaceful and green. Only once have I been in there and not seen a kangaroo, and I probably just wasn’t looking very carefully. Not a bad place to live.

2 Responses to “The Woods are Lovely Dark and Deep”

  1. Rachel Starrett May 8, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    How big is a kangaroo? Is it scary to run into one when you are alone? I picture them like bears or mountain lions or anything else wild. Something you back away from slowly. Is there anything dangerous in the forest?

    • jenniferzook May 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      Haha. They are not scary. They are about the size of deer and just as stupid. They usually lookup if I stop, otherwise they continue eating or napping.

Leave a Reply

