Adventure is out there!!

9 May

As we approach our fourth month of being in Australia, it is times like these where I like to think back to what my life was like a year and a half ago. I was working at a 9-5 job and there was no adventure in my life. I wanted to go hiking in the mountains, sleep on the ground with the bugs while camping, go explore the world where little kids would come by with little baby lambs and demand pictures with them for a small fee and sleep on a boat that constantly shook while trying to breathe at 12,500 ft. Oh how that has all changed. Rob is amazing to bring so much thrill in my life. I am so glad to give up my apartment, my car, my family and friends, and my job to come sit around and watch him go to class everyday. Now, I get to relax, cook, clean, and pick up his Tim Tam crumbs that he tries to hide underneath the fridge when he thinks I am not looking. It’s a good thing he is amazing and totally worth it despite all of his annoying tendencies.

Image                                                                     My man bringing thrill into my life…

 

*Editors note. As if you couldn’t guess, I had a guest blogger today. Rob won at poker and this was his prize. He couldn’t think of anything better since I already wait on him hand and foot. Pssh.

ps. If he ever tried to hold a spider like that in front of me, he knows I would either A. die from fright or B. never speak to him again.

7 Responses to “Adventure is out there!!”

  1. Michelle Giering May 10, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Ooooooooh Rob wrote that! I thought it was kind of weird. It sounded too sarcastic. Now it makes perfect sense. 🙂

    • Mildred Pitoni May 10, 2012 at 3:27 am #

      Just remembering that when Rob grew up with family, his mom made sure both he and Tom did their share of the duties needed to keep body and soul together. Don’t think that included bring in the creepy crawly things!

  2. Neil Hooper May 10, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    Rob didn’t write that. No man, even the incomparable Rob, would put his fingers to a keyboard and type such words. I just KNOW Jennifer typed while he dictated…

  3. jenniferzook May 10, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    To be fair, back when we were in the US and I was working at Rob was not, he did all the cooking and cleaning. It’s my turn. If I get a job, the chore duties will be adjusted.

  4. Dad May 10, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    “I am so glad to give up my apartment, my car, my family and friends, and my job to come sit around and watch him go to class everyday.”
    huh?

    • jenniferzook May 10, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Rob leaves for school and I sit around all day. I’m retired.

  5. Dad May 10, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I thought Rob might like this poster from the Tourist Office of Tanzania:

    Due to the rising frequency of lion encounters in the bush, the Minister of Fish and Wildlife for Tanzania has advised all tourists who travel through areas of sparse human population to be mindful of territorial lion prides as well as individual lions currently roaming the countryside. As the Minister cannot recommend carrying firearms in accordance with the laws of Tanzania, she has issued these recommendations to insure the safety of travelers.
    1. Attach small bells to the belts of everyone in your party to alert lions of your approach.
    2. Carry pepper spray.
    3. Be mindful of evidence of the recent presence of lions by observing their scat.
    4. Adolescence lion scat often contains berries, twigs, and the bones of small animals.
    5. Adult lion scat often smells of pepper and contains tiny bells.

    Respectfully,
    The Office of the Minister of Fish and Wildlife
    Tanzania

Leave a Reply

