Time is Irrelevant

29 Sep

Out of curiosity I googled when Australia starts daylight savings, which is October 7. Then I thought, oh, we’ll be in New Zealand, hey, I wonder if they are at the same time? Nope. New Zealand’s daylight savings beings September 30. By the way, the US is November 4.

Is it silly of me to think that nations of the world could have some uniform time changes? I guess it is. I suppose anything goes when Samoa and Tokelau can jump a day into the future.

One Response to “Time is Irrelevant”

  1. Neil Hooper September 29, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Fascinating trivia, J-pants. which made me curious about it, particularly since I’ve always thought DST was a pointless exercise. Get run over on the way home from school instead of on the way there. What’s the difference? Arizona doesn’t change and I don’t think their juvenile attrition level is noticeably higher than California or New Mexico. Hawaii doesn’t change, either, but then nothing ever does there, does it?

    Two key facts emerged:

    1/ Two-thirds of countries don’t change their clocks at all anyway. We’re in the minority (especially since China and India are two of the non-changers).

    2/ Britain is changing in time with the rest of Europe – when did THAT start? It’s the end of the Empire, I’m warning youŠ

    Neil

    From: jenniferspectacularadventures Reply-To: jenniferspectacularadventures Date: Friday, September 28, 2012 3:14 PM To: Neil Hooper Subject: [New post] Time is Irrelevant

    WordPress.com jenniferzook posted: “Out of curiosity I googled when Australia starts daylight savings, which is October 7. Then I thought, oh, we’ll be in New Zealand, hey, I wonder if they are at the same time? Nope. New Zealand’s daylight savings beings September 30. By the way, the US is”

Leave a Reply

